Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Wedding Day
26 August 2018 16:48


It was a great day. Yes, I know that’s what everyone says about their wedding day but it’s true – and loads of people have told us how much they enjoyed the day; the ceremony and the party. Everything worked out how we planned, and even the little niggles we had in the back of our head (would the hall be decorated enough; was there too much time between ceremony and meal, or between meal and when the band started; would there be enough food; would it rain) proved to be unfounded. Everything went swimmingly.

There was a good omen at the reception. When we arrived, the planner invited us to see the room before the guests arrived. Earlier in the week I’d put a playlist on my iPod for during the meal, and this was already playing. When we walked in to the room, my favourite song was playing. And while you’re wondering whether that was coincidence, or something more sinister; during the band interval later in the evening the iPod was put on again – and the first tune was an instrumental version of that same song!

But let me go back a few days.

My sisters arrived in town the Thursday before the wedding; Mum was already here and an uncle and aunt arrived the same day. We started the evening with a big family meal at a Turkish restaurant – it was a warm evening, and the restaurant has a lovely garden we could eat in. After the meal, the girls had an impromptu hen-do, going to watch Mamma Mia 2 and the boys had an impromptu stag-do, going to the pub. Second Child was working so hadn’t been able to join us for the meal but he phoned me:
“Where are you?”
“I’m in Spoons”
“Cool, I’m in the pub garden; I’ll come in and say hello”
So, he did – and bought us a round.

Amusingly, little BiL (technically he is the older of my two BiLs, but I’ll use “big” and “little” relative to the sister each is married to) didn’t catch the introductions and thought he was a friend of mine, until we explained that he was my about-to-be-stepson!

Friday, we let everyone do their own thing as we had pre-wedding bits and pieces to do – such as decorating the church. The wedding rehearsal was in the early evening and after that the about-to-be Mrs Barefoot, the about-to-be stepchildren and I went to the ice cream parlour (via Subway as I insisted we had to have something savoury before having something sweet). After that we all went to the hotel where most people were staying; quite a few friends and family had arrived by then.

Friday evening, I stayed at a hotel (a different one to most of the guests). This was partly to maintain the “bride and groom shouldn’t see each other on the morning of the wedding”, but also meant we could check-in on the Friday rather than the Saturday we we would have been too busy.

Saturday morning, I mooched around the hotel a bit, then Little Sis and I went for a short walk round the park before it was time to start getting ready and head for the church.

At the church I met and chatted to people as they arrived, until the photographer arrived and told me the bridal car would arrive soon, so I better get myself down the front. The church is only a couple of blocks from the house, so the cars took the bridal party for a tour of the area. Apparently, Child 2 was texting his friends to come out and look at the pair of vintage car that were rolling through town!

The very-nearly Mrs Barefoot arrived pretty much on time and was in the church by 3:05! She looked absolutely beautiful. The service was great – really enjoyable, and the Minister was brilliant at calming our nerves. Not that we had any. Quite a lot of my family are “traditional Anglicans”, so possibly weren’t used to a non-conformist service. We’d chosen traditional hymns, but with a twist: “How great Thou art”(no twist there – give the traditionalists a bit of comfort); “Amazing Grace – My Chains are gone” (which starts like the traditional Amazing Grace but then goes a bit different); and “Be Thou My Vision” (in 4:4 time, rather than the usual 3:4).

Often at weddings, the couple spend an eternity signing the register. Goodness knows what they do in that time. We had it signed, and all photos taken (including an extra one with all three children) before the song (Perfect – Ed Sheeran) had finished. Just saying.

Outside the church (through a St John Ambulance guard of honour) for a few photos, then off to the reception venue. It is on the edge of a large park so we had the formal photographs there while the younglings served canapes and Prosecco to the guests. Big Sis did a sterling job of getting everyone in place – rounding up people for the next group shot while one was being taken – so there wasn’t too much hanging around.

Then inside for the formal reception line greetings – Mr and Mrs Barefoot and the three children (we decided it was too long a time for the parents to stand for). That took a bit of time, with lots of handshakes, hugs and kisses. Little Sis gave Mrs B a big hug and said “thank you do making my brother so happy”.

We’d spent a lot of time working out the table plan, ensuring that friends and family from both sides were mixed up and that everyone had someone they did know and someone they didn’t know on their table. The conversation flowed before and during the meal so I think we got it right.

When Mrs B and I finished eating we walked round the room to have a “cheers” with each table (we’d topped up our wine glasses with water to do this – had to keep a clear head), and then it was time for the speeches.

The custom is for the groom to propose a toast to the bridesmaids, but I extended this to include all three children, mentioning how traumatic it had been for them getting to know me (suffering my singing, my walks (longer, muddier, and rainier than expected), and being woken by the smoke alarm (sometimes as early as 11.30 am) when I’ve been cooking) and Child 1 gave a really nice speech in reply. I also mentioned how Big Sis had owed me a mars bar for so long we couldn’t remember why she’s owed to me in the first place. In her speech, Big Sis presented me and Mrs B with a mars bar to settle the debt. It was as if we’d collaborated, but it was totally by chance (and the fact that Big Sis knew I would bring it up!).

The rest of the evening was spent chatting with as many guests as possible. The band we’d booked (they came with the venue) were brilliant and played a great selection of songs. The dance floor was full for the whole evening, which shows how good the music was. We spoke to the band at the end and they said they’d really enjoyed the evening too.

There were so many other great things about the day too – and amusing incidents too. It was a brilliant day.

The following day we’d arranged a big family meal for all the parents, siblings, and families – all 22 of us - before everyone went their separate ways home. But that is deserving of a whole post of its own …

One other family anecdote: a few days before the wedding, Mrs B’s Aunt messaged her to say that Uncle intended to drive down from Manchester and back the same day. Reading between the lines, we concluded that Aunt thought this was too far. “They could stay at our house” said Mrs B – we weren’t going to be here and Mrs B’s sister, who had been going to stay, was staying with a friend instead. I said to add that they can look after Child 3, as that will give Aunt the excuse she needs to stay over. We heard nothing for 3 hours (“oh no, we’ve started an argument”) and then Aunt accepted the offer: “Uncle thought we could go back the same day, but I said it was too far” – which is exactly what we’d worked out was going on!

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!