Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Does anyone know what's going on?
14 March 2019 12:59


Just when you think Brexit can't get any more farcical, it suddenly does. Last night, Parliament MPs voted to reject leaving the EU without a withdrawal agreement. There are so many negatives in that sentence I'm not too sure what it means.

I couldn't face listening to the news programmes on my way to work this morning. There's only so many ways you can hear "there's no agreement and we don't know what's going on" without it's becoming tedious. At least I haven't heard "resolve the stalemate" for a week or so. You can't resolve a stalemate; it's the end of the game.

What, IMHO, Members of Parliament fail to grasp is that whatever agreement we end up with, it's going to be a compromise. No one is going to get everything they want. Rather than "I want, I want" they should consider "I'm not getting this, but you're not getting that so on balance we're evens. Let's have a hug and get through this together".

And as for "failing the democratic process by not following the clear mandate given by the referendum". 1) A democratic process recognises that not everyone votes in the same way, and should respect the views of the "losers" as well as the "winners". 2) 52-48 is NOT a clear mandate. It's probably within the limits of what you could get by chance. Flip a coin a hundred times - you'll probably get a bigger heads-to-tails outcome than 52-48.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!