Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Cover versions
05/06/2006 08:22


Heard a version of "comfortably numb" over the weekend - on some background music somewhere. I don't know who was singing performing it but I really cannot express how bad it was. It's not often that music instills feelings of violence in me, but I really would have liked to attack that group with a machine gun.

"Comfortaby Numb" is one of the best songs by one of the best rock groups ever. It is supposed to be emotional, passionate, thought-provoking. It does not need a change in tempo. It does not need a backing dance beat. It should not be used as background music in a store.

If I were Prime Minister I would pass a law that would all cover versions to be approved by a panel of judges (or maybe just me) before being issued. Covers would have to be at least as good as the original.

I would also ban the use of sampling (aka stealing someone else's riff) in songs. I don't care who you are. You either sing the song properly, or you don't sing it at all.

previous - next

Recent Entries

Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019
Boris the unwanted - 25 July 2019
University, Bargains, and Timing - 13 July 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!